U19 Cricket World Cup scandal erupts between England and Zimbabwe over enchantment


The cricketing world is in uproar after a massively controversial choice on the U19 World Cup on Sunday morning.

England’s Hamza Shaikh was given out through the ultra-rare dismissal of obstructing the sphere throughout his staff’s match in opposition to Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe gamers have been broadly criticised for not withdrawing their enchantment with Piers Morgan amongst these to cry foul in regards to the so-called unsporting act.

Watch Australia v West Indies on Kayo Sports activities. Each Take a look at, ODI and T20I Stay with no advert breaks throughout play. New to Kayo? Begin Your Free Trial As we speak >

Shaikh was batting at No. 4 for England as they appeared to set a giant whole for Zimbabwe to chase down.

After a good begin to the innings Shaikh got here to the wicket with the rating 70/2.

Nonetheless, he was solely in for 9 balls after earlier than being despatched again to the pavilion when the scandal exploded, The Solar reviews.

Shaikh swung at a ball however did not get a significant connection because it settled between his legs on the wicket.

The batter picked up a stationary ball and threw it to Zimbabwean wicketkeeper Ryan Kamwemba to avoid wasting him the trouble of getting it himself.

Kamwemba then appealed for Shaikh to be out for obstructing the sphere, to which the umpire agreed.

The legal guidelines of cricket do say {that a} participant could be given out for obstructing the sphere “with out the consent of a fielder” in the event that they use “the bat of any a part of their individual” to present the ball again.

Retired England quick bowler Steve Harmison slammed the choice as he stated “the sport’s gone” on commentary.

“I’m sorry that’s a shocker,” he added after seeing the replay.

“Should you’re getting given out for that then the sport’s gone, it actually has. How can an umpire give that out?”

Morgan was scathing when commenting on the incident.

“How completely pathetic,” he wrote on X, previously often known as Twitter.

“Disgrace on these Zimbabwe gamers. Who desires to win like that?

Stuart Broad wrote on Twitter: “Oh get a grip. He’s passing a stationary ball again to the fielder? Doing him a favour! Cant give that out

Former England quick bowler Tim Bresnan wrote: “Among the worst Officiating I feel I’ve ever seen. Embarrassing choice. Typical instance of those that know the principles however don’t know the sport”.

It’s considered one of 9 methods a batter could be dismissed, however there are solely eight cases by which it has occurred in Males’s One Day Internationals.

The newest instance was Sri Lanka star Danushka Gunathilaka being given out in opposition to the West Indies in March 2021.