Lunar New Yr: Sydney celebrates Yr of the Dragon, What’s happening in Sydney for Lunar New Yr

Australian cities have reworked right into a sea of pink as Lunar New Yr festivities kick off throughout the nation.

The annual occasion, which regularly runs for about 15 days, begins on Saturday and this time marks the start of the Yr of the Dragon.

Hundreds of individuals have flocked to occasions throughout capital cities to bask in decadent banquets, observe conventional lion and dragon performances and in a while, watch firework exhibits gentle up the sky.

Images taken in Sydney’s Chinatown present crowds jammed into the slender lanes to absorb the colorful decorations of pink and gold.

Lord Mayor Clover Moore was noticed wearing a conventional silk robe handing out pink envelopes to native enterprise homeowners and residents.

These envelopes are shared with family members and pals over the brand new 12 months celebrations to indicate good luck for the 12 months forward.

“2024 welcomes the Yr of the Dragon, a 12 months that’s stated to deliver nice fortune,” Ms Moore stated.

“The dragon is exclusive as a result of it’s the solely legendary creature of all of the animals within the Chinese language zodiac, and it’s seen as a strong image of vitality, innovation, enterprise, ardour and romance.”

Kids sat on the shoulders of fogeys get a glimpse of the dragons dancing up the principle strip of Chinatown.

Elements of the Haymarket might be closed down from 5pm to make approach for meals stalls, roving performances and leisure together with Thomas St, Hay St, Sussex St and Harbour St.

A five-metre excessive picket dragon located has been put in on Dixon Road in honour of the 12 months’s zodiac whereas George Road might be lit up with 12 zodiac lanterns between every sitting on high of an illuminated plinth.

The pageant is ready to run for sixteen days in Sydney, with greater than 70 occasions on the calendar together with dragon boat racing and cultural performances.

Celebrations are anticipated to happen in different capital cities together with Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth.

Related Articles

Back to top button